When it comes to goals, everyone's a marketer

Image by: blog.iqmatrix.com

I had a conversation with a colleague today, and we talked about marketing and how the definition of marketing has evolved, and continues to evolve every minute of of everyday. So many people think marketing = advertising.  Believe me, this is the easiest definition, and one that I have often resorted to when trying to explain to my 8 year old what daddy does at work all day.  Dictionary.com defines marketing as follows:

***********************************
mar·ket·ing  [mahr-ki-ting]
(noun ) The total of activities involved in the transfer of goods from the producer or seller to the consumer or buyer, including advertising, shipping, storing, and selling.

***********************************

In the conversation with my colleague, we talked about how marketing is much more foundational.  It goes well beyond the “total activities involved in the transfer of goods from the producer to the seller”.  As a “marketer”, there is a lot that goes into the advertising, shipping, storing, and selling of goods. There’s considering the opportunity, messaging, competition, alliances, and above all the customer.  (I suggest Dictionary.com add “support” after selling in their definition)

At the same time, I am working on my personal goals for the year. What I aim to accomplish, and how I will be measured. Funny thing, in my goal development (which almost everyone does to some degree in their job, or personal life)  follows this same train of thought.

  • Where’s my opportunities for growth and success?
  • How do I define myself? What’s my message, my brand?
  • Is there competition? Who would I be up against?
  • Who will I align with to accomplish my goals? Do they share the same passion?
  • Who am I trying to motivate, sell, convince, impress?
  • Can I support the expectations I set for myself?  Are the expectations sustainable?

No matter what job or role you have, you think about some or all of these things when you set goals for yourself.  You think about opportunity, personal brand, competition and cooperation, colleagues and customers.

So, like marketing, goals are foundational to success, and since we all have goals, aren’t we all marketers?

Check out Chris Brogan’s post on personal branding…some great advice that you can leverage to set goals and market yourself in 2011.

2 thoughts on “When it comes to goals, everyone's a marketer

  1. Pingback: Seinfeld: a textbook in marketing strategy « myndfuel

  2. Pingback: Seinfeld: a textbook in marketing strategy | mark wojtasiak

Leave a Reply

