How to fuel creativity? Do your kids' homework

Earlier this week, I blogged about my daughter’s homework assignment: a paragraph a week and how companies could deploy this concept to engage with employees, invigorate employee creativity, and in the process get a ton of new ideas.

Then I thought more about it….Why would just companies benefit from this assignment?Why couldn’t individuals?

Creativity in school is becoming more and more prevelent as teachers try to tap into kids’ creativity as a way to not only encourage it, but develop new and exciting ways to teach and thus learn.   I did a post on the topic for Seagate a ways back: Reaping the rewards of the creative continuum, “the article argues, that students should be measured on how well they create as well as how effectively they consume.”

I don’t know about you, but some of the homework my kids bring home really stretches the bounds of their creativity. What a great excercise for all of us, so I am going to try it out.  I am going to do my kids homework.  Not for them, for me.  It not only get to engage more with my kids and their schoolwork,  but it may unleash ideas and thoughts I may have on any number of topics…we’ll see what we get assigned.

I’ll start with the paragraph of the week assignment and see how it goes.  Eventually, maybe I’ll branch out into collages, book reports, and art.

I’m done with math, so don’t count on that.

Try it out.

Leave a Reply

